Jake's Web Page

Labrador Retriever (medium coat)  : :  Male (neutered)

More Pics...

Won't you think about adopting me?

Sponsor This Pet

Learn more about the Labrador Retriever.

Print an adoption flyer for Jake!

About Jake

  • Status: Available for Adoption (adoption info)
  • Species: Dog
  • General Color: Yellow
  • Current Size: 92 Pounds
  • Potential Size: 85 Pounds
  • Current Age: 6 Years 11 Months (best estimate)


Hey everyone! Jake checking in! Aren’t I just a super handsome 7 year old boy?? I seem to think so. 


Apparently though I have this little “quirk”. I guess it’s called separation anxiety… but really it’s not all that bad. I’m not destructive, I just do silly things when you are gone. Like for instance, I’ve “rearranged” the furniture a few times… I find pulling on the fabric works well to move it around. One time, I used my magical skills and opened the freezer door and emptied everything out. If there is nothing to get into, I might pee a little to show you how unhappy I am that you are away. 


Foster dad says my “incidents” have gotten less often as I’ve settled in, but I still do have some days I like to remind you of my silly “quirk”, and it seems I only get in to trouble if I’m left alone longer than 8 hours. Foster dad has a very sporadic work schedule and he thinks that I would do better in a house with a consistent schedule, or with someone who is home a lot… Oh ya!! I would LOVE that!!! Maybe with a more constant schedule, I’d be better once I got settled in, I’d like to think so.


But the truth is, I’m going to need a very patient and understanding family, and someone who would be willing to deal with my silly “quirk”.


If you think you might be the person that can handle me and my “quirkiness”, and are already approved reach out to labmatch@labadoption.org or get your application in at www.labadoption.org



Hi! My name is Jake, an almost 7 year old, big loving boy looking for my forever family.  I am big but I'm very gentle.  I'm calm around the house and I love all dogs and people, especially the small people, they always want to give me pets.  I eat nicely around my 2 doggie siblings, we don't go around each other's food at all. 


Speaking of eating, I am on a diet and exercise program since I need to lose some weight to be as healthy as possible.  It's hard because I love food and treats, but I love walks too, so it's not all bad. 


I have a mild case of laryngeal paralysis that makes me cough when I get excited, but it isn't a big deal, just a few coughs and them I'm done.  My vet said no treatment is needed right now.  I love getting my nails trimmed,  getting brushed and even having my teeth looked at, it all just feels like attention and I love when people pay attention to me. 


One thing I don't like is taking medicine.  If you put peanut butter on my pills and mix them in my food I will eat them, otherwise they taste yucky.  Why would I eat that?  The other thing I don't like is when my humans leave the house.  I get worried, so sometimes I chew on things or have little accidents in the house.  My foster family is trying to help me understand that they will always come back, but seeing them leave makes me a bit nervous.  I would love if my forever family was around a lot. Might that be you?

Other Pictures of Jake (click to see larger version):

Jake Jake Jake