Gunnar's Web Page

Labrador Retriever (medium coat)  : :  Male  : :  Senior  : :  Large


More Pics...

Interested in adopting?

Sponsor This Pet

Learn more about the Labrador Retriever.

Print an adoption flyer for Gunnar!

About Gunnar

  • Status: Available for Adoption (adoption info)
  • Species: Dog
  • General Color: Yellow
  • Distinguishing Marks: Piece of right ear missing. Half circle on bottom of ear.
  • Eye Color: Brown
  • Current Size: 83 Pounds
  • Potential Size: 80 Pounds
  • Current Age: 12 Years 1 Month (best estimate)
  • Housetrained: Yes
  • Obedience Training Needed: Needs Training
  • Exercise Needs: Moderate
  • Grooming Needs: Moderate
  • Shedding Amount: Moderate
  • Reaction to New People: Friendly

2/12/24 - Hi everyone!  Gunnar here with an update!  I’m slowly adjusting to my new life.  I still have trouble with the sunlight coming through the windows and creating shadows.  My foster parents help me by keeping the shades down when it’s sunny outside.  If I get anxious they give me a lick or snuffle mat or a frozen Kong with peanut butter to distract me!  At night sometimes the outside lights still bother me so foster mom takes me out on a leash.  The vet gave me medicine to take everyday to help me while I adjust.  I’m not a fan of hard floors so foster dad put rugs down so I can walk around the house!  Even the vet put down extra rugs for me!  
 

I love living in a house!   I’m potty trained and I don’t get into things that I’m not supposed to.  I don’t use a crate because it was too scary.  My foster family says I don’t need one because I’m good at night and when they go away for a few hours.  I just hang out with the dog who lives here.  I love people especially if they pet me and I love stuffed animals!  The toys with a squeaker are the best!  The squeaker is also a good way to distract me if I’m anxious about something.  
 

I will be neutered on March 11th but I’m available to meet families before that.  If you are interested in adopting a senior boy who acts much younger than that and have already been approved, email labmatch@labadoption.org.  If you are not already approved you can fill out an application on our website.

 

1/14/24 - ON HOLD

Hi everyone!  I’m new to L.E.A.R.N. and just want to introduce myself. I’m 12 yrs old and have lived outside on a farm my whole life. I did have some shelter, but someone told my foster mom that they saw me tied up outside every day.  It didn’t take me long to realize I like living in a house and sleeping on a dog bed, but I do have a quirk that foster mom and dad are working on. I don't like all the shadows and sunlight moving around the house. I get a anxious and bark at it when I see it, so foster mom is doing things to distract me, and keep my mind off it.

My foster parents tell me I’m a sweet boy and I'm in great shape for a 12 yr old!  I like everyone I meet and get along with the dog that lives here.  I’m learning new things and I’m adjusting to city life!  I’ll keep you updated on my progress. Stay tuned

 

More about Gunnar

Good with Dogs, Good with Adults, Quiet, Does Good in the Car, Requires a yard, Likes to play with toys, Affectionate

Video of Gunnar:

Other Pictures of Gunnar (click to see larger version):

Gunnar Gunnar Gunnar